IT Profile evaluation

Launched April 26, 2006
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

IT Profile evaluation

by mbasun1 » Sun Jan 25, 2009 1:02 am
Hi,

I need your assistance in assessing my application please.

I am an Indian graduate, aged 27, working in Australia for the last 3.5 years.
Total work exp: 5 years
IT industry; middle-level Senior resource.
Job profile includes:
-Solution Design
-Responding to RFPs, RFIs, etc (pre-sales)
-Functional consultancy

I have been thinking about doing a MBA. Havent taken the GMAT yet. I have been considering only the 1-year courses:
1. Nanyang, Singapore - 4th round (31st march)
2. ISB, India - Dates past

My primary concerns are:
1. In these times of recession, many top MBA schools are struggling to get companies on board for placements. Is it better to continue in job at this stage or jump into the arena?
2. Are 1-yr MBAs a good choice? I dont think I have time for 2-yrs. Please suggest some other schools which can be targetted.
3. The main thinig - what does one do after MBA in IT (assuming that I continue in IT post-MBA as would like to capitalize on the 5yrs of IT exp)? Currently, the only MBAs at my place are in sales. All the technical, consultancy roles are done by techies with exp, even the pre-sales. No doubt, post-MBA the salary grades change but does that mean doing the same job at a higher salary only?

Your views will assist me in sorting out the confusion.

Thanks.

GMAT/MBA Expert

MBA Admissions Consultant
Followed by:148 members

by Lisa Anderson » Sun Jan 25, 2009 11:46 am
Dear mbasun1,

In response to your questions:
1. In these times of recession, many top MBA schools are struggling to get companies on board for placements. Is it better to continue in job at this stage or jump into the arena?