Applying directly after undergrad...Advice?

Share tips as you apply, write essays, interview...
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

Applying directly after undergrad...Advice?

by Borgulous » Sat Jan 17, 2009 11:18 pm
Hello all! First off, Beatthegmat.com is awesome for providing such a great community.

So right now I'm starting my second semester of my junior year at a small, liberal arts college. I'm majoring in information systems and expect to have a 3.7 by the time I apply. I have a 4.0 within my major field of study. I've had two substantial internships: Lockheed Martin & a prosperous web-service company in the Silicon Valley. I also have done a lot of other smaller, free-lance type jobs. I'm currently looking into internships for this upcoming summer and will hopefully land another "big name" one. I'm planning to take the GMAT the first time around this May.

Right now I'm looking at Yale's Silver Scholar program and Vanderbilt. I am planning on getting great letters of recommendation, have done substantial amounts of service, and am hoping to launch a start up of my own concurrently with school this semester.

What sort of GMAT score would I need to get to get into a Top-25 program like Yale or Vanderbilt? Does anyone know any schools that are particularly friendly to college seniors applying? Is there a good round to apply in being a college senior? And lastly, with all the above information, do I have a shot at all?

Sometimes I read peoples' stories on the site and get a bit discouraged, but I really have set goals and would like to get my MBA directly after undergrad. Any advice anyone could give would be amazing!

Thanks in advance!

Senior | Next Rank: 100 Posts

by tmino » Sun Jan 18, 2009 6:12 am