staying at current job vs. internship? Opinion needed please

Launched April 26, 2006
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
I need some advice. I have been at my current job for one year. This February I will have fulfilled the 2 years of work experience. I was at a previous employer for a year in the same career field, homeowner's insurance. I feel that insurance is not something I want to pursue and that the work experience I do have at my company is irrelevant to what I plan on doing, Business Analysis. I am studying for the GMAT, I want to take it in June or July. Then, depending on my score, I plan on going abroad, to China, for one year to experience the culture and pick up my native tongue (reading and writing it, etc.) When I come back, I plan on going straight into whichever is the best Business school that will accept me. MY PROBLEM is... I really HATE my current employer and feel that I'd be better off trying to find a 6 month INTERNSHIP in the Business Analyst field and getting the WORK EXPERIENCE from them prior to applying for Business school. I feel wasted and unappreciated at my current job for various reasons. Would doing the internship make my resume/application for Business school look bad because I've "bounced around" with different employers? In my defense and reasoning, I have finally REALIZED that insurance is not for me and neither is the experience (or lack of it) and I'd be better off pursuing experience in my intended career path, BUSINESS ANALYST. Please let me know what you think concerning how a Business school would judge me on this. If it just looks bad and if I do need to "stick it out" with INSURANCE. Thank you very much!

Sincerely,

Lucy Wong

GMAT/MBA Expert

MBA Admissions Consultant
Followed by:148 members

by Lisa Anderson » Mon Jan 12, 2009 5:16 pm
Dear Lucy,