Admission tips for an engineering undergraduate

Launched April 26, 2006
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
Hello,

I am an electrical engineering undergraduate at the University of Minnesota- Twin Cities. I have seriously been thinking of going to B school after working for 1-2 years. The reason why I wish to go to B school early is because I feel I will lose my academic mindset with time , so it is better to get in B school after having 2 years of work experience.I have been offered a job from the company where I did 2 internships , but the job is not really an engineering one rather a business one. I accepted the job because in these economic situation it is very difficult to get a good job. Will this affect the admission decision by any means i.e. why did I take up a non engineering job after graduating with a BS in electrical engineering?

One of the things that bother me the most are the high GPA requirements that the B schools have. It looks like the admission committee usually place an engineering student's GPA on almost the same scale as biology or business. I have been really studying very hard and my GPA is hovering around 3.3-3.5. With 2 more semesters to go it can go up or down.

So, my question is that what should I do to make sure that I get into top B schools ,if I graduate with 3.3 -3.5 . It is not that I am not trying hard it is just that there way too many smart people in the class who end up being on the front end of the grading curve and who will never ever do an MBA because they love engineering so much.

Please let me know.

Thanks
Piyush

GMAT/MBA Expert

MBA Admissions Consultant
Followed by:148 members

by Lisa Anderson » Sat Dec 13, 2008 11:16 am
Dear Piyush,