What can I do now (a year out) to increase my chances.

Share tips as you apply, write essays, interview...
This topic has expert replies
Junior | Next Rank: 30 Posts
Hi,

I'm very passionate about applying to business school and I'm currently studying for the GMAT (Month 2). I'm planning on applying next year to enter into the class of 2017.

In addition to preparing for the GMAT and working on increasing responsibility at work, I'd like to know what I can do now to help my cause.

Here are schools I'm considering applying to in Round 1: Michigan, Northwestern, Columbia, NYU, Cornell.

Undergraduate education: 3.37 GPA from UT Dallas, Marketing Major
Was playing in bands at time recording music, VP of Marketing Associate at School

Target GMAT: 730

Age 27 - applying at 28.

Extracurricular: Running 1/2 marathons and 10ks in NYC. Founder and president of Alumni chapter in NYC.

Work experience:

Marketing Coordinator at large publishing company, ended up developing and implementing corporate social media strategy under CMO and VP of Marketing's direction. (1 year, 7 months)

Marketing Automation Manager at small software company, work with major big name brands, manage 2 outsourced teams and manage relationships with major clients. (11 months, currently)

Interviewed and considering moving to a Forbes 50 company as a marketing software consultant (would be 1 year before applying)

Alternative transcript:
Considering taking 3 classes to get As and provide alternative transcript for schools.

What else can I do a year out from applying to increase my changes? I'd ultimately like to switch to management consulting to a firm such as: Mckinsey, Bain, BCG. What are my changes at the listed schools and should I consider any others?

Any insight is greatly appreciated!

Master | Next Rank: 500 Posts
Followed by:7 members

by Michael@VeritasPrep » Sat Sep 19, 2015 2:55 pm