What are my chances of getting into grad school?

Share tips as you apply, write essays, interview...
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
I graduated in May 2009 with a BS in Accounting but I haven't done anything productive since then. Currently, the only work experience I've had are typical high school jobs like retail and waitering, but nothing related to my major. I majored in Accounting which is supposed to be in pretty high demand right now but I haven't been very active in my job search. This is partly due to laziness but mostly due to anxiety problems.

I just signed up to take the GMAT in February and I'm planning on applying to grad school to get an MS in Accounting with hopes of getting a better chance at landing a job by going through on-campus recruiting which I did not take advantage of during my undergrad.

I only had a 3.11/4.00 GPA during my undergrad. I have not had any kind of job since graduating in 2009. It has almost been 2 years since I graduated and I haven't done anything productive at all. I never got a chance to know any of my professors and I'm afraid that they won't remember me when I ask them for recommendations.

I am really worried about my chances of getting into a grad school. What do you guys think my chances are? What can I do to improve my chances besides score high on the GMAT? I am feeling pretty hopeless right now :(

Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

by jmoy911 » Fri Jan 07, 2011 2:09 pm
Nawked, I would look towards being more active in trying to find a job. Have you tried temping at some places? This could ensure your route to a full time offer. Being in the field myself (I work at a Big 4 firm), I can vouch that accounting is definitely a high demand field.