Verbal strategy

This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

Verbal strategy

by asree12 » Tue Jul 15, 2008 6:19 am
Hi I'm Sreejith from India. I would like to have some suggestions from you all to improve on my verbal reasoning and Reading Comprehension skills. I take lot of time in understanding the passage and try to answer the questions, Still i find that the accuracy is less that 60%. what should i do. I have been following strategy guides of Manhattan for both CR and Reading Comp. Also same is the case with SC. But i'm in the begining stage, recently started my preparation a month back. I wanted to correct my mistakes as early as possible.Please help me to improve. As i am working as a software engineer i get time to prepare only when i'm back from office that too very late in the night.

Books I have
CR- Powerscore bible(just finished 2 chapters), Manhattan
RC- Manhattan(completed)
SC-Manhattan-3 chapters finished)
Strategy-Princeton Review 2009 Edition with DVD
Maths-GMAT Quantitative review
GMAC books- I bought all the 3 books.

I am aiming for 700 and above score in GMAT as i have just 2 years of work experience. I am ready to buy more books please suggest me the right book to follow.

Hi

by balaji_xp » Tue Jul 15, 2008 11:17 pm
Hi Buddy,
Try the GMAT Official Guide 11 edition.

GMAT/MBA Expert

GMAT Instructor
Followed by:694 members
GMAT Score:780

by Stacey Koprince » Mon Jul 21, 2008 8:22 am
Here are some additional things you can do (I did post this in answer to another question recently, but I can't find that thread anymore, so I'll copy it again here!).

RC Passage:

What is the main point or purpose of the entire passage (most commonly found in the first couple of sentences or the last couple of sentences of the whole thing)?

What is the purpose / main idea of each individual paragraph?

What kind of info is contained in the various paragraphs?
- background info / context