Welcome! Check out our free B-School Guides to learn how you compare with other applicants.
Login or Register

USD vs UCSD vs SDSU...Work Will Pay For SDSU

This topic has 1 member reply
BeesKnees Just gettin' started!
Posted:
1 messages
USD vs UCSD vs SDSU...Work Will Pay For SDSU Post Fri Sep 03, 2010 11:06 pm
Hi,

My question: If accepted, why should I go into debt to attend USD or UCSD when my work will pay for about 90% of the SDSU cost? I don't know if it's just me not wanting to go back to the same CSU school for my MBA or what. Am I being unreasonable with myself? Is that debt burden worth it? I really like San Diego and plan on staying here as long as I can, so I figure that I'd have better connections by going to USD or UCSD--connections in SD as well as possibly all of CA.

I just started studying the GMAT with the intention to apply to the 3 above-mentioned schools. I got my undergrad in Finance from SDSU, but I think my best fit would be USD and I'd really like to go there because of its reputation around SD. My issue is that my work will pay for SDSU (barely) but I think USD or UCSD would probably be a better choice for their reputations and connections.

I'm not too sure about UCSD b/c I've read that they are much more geared toward the tech, bio, and medical industries. I work in contracts for the government, so I don't really have any reason to go that path. I think the UCSD MBA program has made some changes recently though, possibly toward a more broad MBA program, which I would like. This is something I'll have to confirm here soon.

The emphasis I would probably choose would be in Finance, of which I think the best program would be at USD.