Took GMAT but Scored low. Should I take GRE?

Find out how Beat The GMAT members tackled GMAT test prep with positive results. Get tips on GMAT test prep materials, online courses, study tips, and more.
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
I recently took GMAT and scored a poor 530 (Q41 V22). This was my last attempt as I already took the GMAT twice. I want to attend Ross Business School. My undergrad GPA is 3.2 ('06). I have excellent work experience (over 8 years of managerial experience in various roles) and community involvement in which I hosted several fundraisers and managed a non-profit organization. I wanted to get a good GMAT score to compensate for the low GPA score. Unfortunately, I couldn't succeed. I started studying for GMAT last year. My scores on the practice tests were all above 650. In fact, my practice test score prior to the exam was 710. Unfortunately, I couldn't repeat the success on the real test. Either I am not a good test taker or I didn't study the RIGHT METHOD. Actually, I don't know what I did wrong. I really thought that I improved alot on the Verbal Section. I scored around v35/v36 on GMAT Club Tests, which were all new questions. I really don't understand what went wrong on the real test. I really thought that I would score above 650. Anyway, I do not plan to take the test again (In fact, I used up all the resources (GMAT, VERITAS, GMATCLUB, E-GMAT)). However, I understand that it's a challenge to get into Ross as I have a low GMAT score. Ross Business School also accepts GRE scores. My question is whether I should prepare for GRE (hopefully, I will prepare the RIGHT WAY) and take the test in the next couple of months and apply in the 3rd round. I would like to get advice from experts on this forum regarding this approach. Please let me whether this is a possible approach. I do not mind to study hard but I would like to ensure that I study properly. I understand that a low GMAT score raises a red flag. Please ad