Too many materials - overload?

Have suggestions to improve this community?
This topic has expert replies
Legendary Member
Followed by:6 members

Too many materials - overload?

by mayonnai5e » Wed Nov 28, 2007 3:32 am
Anyone have any thoughts on the sheer volume of resources available on this website?

I remember when I first started looking into studying, I was completely overwhelmed by the material particularly all the online material that just appeared out of nowhere (e.g. 1000 documents, random notes from people). Perhaps it would be interesting to structure the materials available such that a total newbie can easily figure out what should be used first, what should be used second, and what should be used as a last resort.

For example, I often tell people to use PR Cracking the GMAT if they are completely new to the GMAT, OG books if they are midway through their studies, and kaplan 800 + MGMAT in the advanced stages. Only when all these resources are used up and further studies would lead to repetition of many many questions, do I suggest using the other material available (e.g. 1000 docs). Or if someone is struggling financially then the free materials online can be a good option.

I'm asking this because I just looked through out resources page (del.ici.ious whatever it is) and there are a ton of links. It seems highly unorganized.
https://www.beatthegmat.com/my-blog-erro ... t4899.html
550 =\ ...560 =\... 650 =) ...570 =( ...540 =*( ...680 =P ... 670 =T ...=T... 650 =T ...700 =) ..690 =) ...710 =D ...GMAT 720 DING!! ;D

Learn more about me

GMAT/MBA Expert

Site Admin
Followed by:994 members

by beatthegmat » Wed Nov 28, 2007 11:06 pm
Moved to 'Suggestions and Feedback'...

Thanks for the feedback, Lee. I agree that the directory is becoming fat with resources, but ironically, one of the primary reasons I switched to a del.icio.us directory was that I thought it was a much more efficient way to organize the bloat. The tags are really great!