The Ultimate Dilemma - HEC/ US Schools/ ISB

Figure out where you wish to apply
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

The Ultimate Dilemma - HEC/ US Schools/ ISB

by H.Devin » Sat Nov 29, 2014 11:08 pm
Hey People!

BACKGROUND
I am a mechanical engineer from India, working with an automobile company for the past 3.5 years now and have worked in both Operations and Marketing roles. I appeared for my GMAT and have scored a 750 (Q50, V41). I applied to a few colleges this year - Duke, HEC, Emory, Kelley, Foster, and Olin. Among these, I have received an admit from HEC, and am expecting results for Foster, Olin, and Kelley (rest rejects).

Now comes the decision part. Post-MBA, I want to join either operations or marketing. Of course, initially I will have to work outside to repay the loans and that is understandable but in the long-term I would want to return back to India or at the least Asia, at a senior role with preference to leadership roles. Since most of these schools (in which I have a chance post rejections) have limited brand power in India/ Asia, please suggest a suitable choice. Also, please consider that my work-ex is slightly on the lower side.

Another candidate in this race is ISB. I will be applying for the USB in the 2nd round but from my talks with their Admissions team I stand a good chance unless I crash my interview badly.

CONSIDERATIONS
HEC has a good reputation and sends good number of people to Asia as well. But, still, some people sound apprehensive and say that due to European economic situations it should be a pass unless its LSE or INSEAD.
ISB is good for Indian scene but its global acceptability is still low. Also, leadership offers are lower as compared to HEC
US schools - H1B is the only issue with a US MBA which makes me sweat.

PROBLEM
I have to make my HEC decision almost 4 days post my US college decisions.