Test Approaching. Need Advice

This topic has expert replies
Senior | Next Rank: 100 Posts

Test Approaching. Need Advice

by Rudy414 » Sat Mar 09, 2013 1:23 pm
Hi everyone,

Quick intro. I have been studying for the GMAT for about 2 months and had been planning on taking it this month, but I have not progressed as far as I'd hoped I would have at this point so I have postponed taking it until May. I am hoping I don't have to postpone it further, but it is too soon to say. For now, I am assuming I will take it in May.

I have pretty much memorized that Kaplan Premier 2012 and two 2009 quantitative problems books, and have taken 3 online practice tests. Every practice test I have taken, my score has gotten slightly worse: 590 -> 580 -> 560. There is about a 3 week interval between each one where I studied what I did poorly on each one, yet each time I have come up with a worse score. It is starting to get very discouraging, and I know one of the big themes on this forum is have confidence. My confidence armor is slowly starting to chip away, and more importantly, my scores indicate I am not getting the topics, though I have been averaging about 2-3 hrs of study a night and focusing really hard on what I did wrong on those practice tests.

So, I open this up to anyone with experience with this frustration and how they overcame it. I have read through countless success stories and they all kind of have the same vague advice that anyone who has ever pulled an all-nighter studying for a test can tell you (stick with it, study hard, focus, all that jazz). So, I was hoping someone could offer some more specific insight. I would tell you what I need the most help on, but honestly between the three practice tests, each one showed a general weakness everywhere, not so much an isolated weak area.