Stuck after months. How to go from Q44 to Q50?

This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
I've been studying for the GMAT for six months and feel like I'm plateauing. My scores have been hovering around the 700 to 710, but I can't seem to break out of that score range. I know this is good, but my target score is 730 and I'd really like to get there. Here are my test scores and you can see that somehow I'm getting worse. Verbal is strong and I feel like I should be focusing on quant only.

I'm not sure why I can't improve. I've been studying quant problems roughly two hours each day during the week and three to five hours on the weekends. Any advice or tips? Currently I've been going over missed problems over and over until I know them. I've also memorized all the recommended tips (primes, triangle rules, etc.).

Thanks!

GMAT/MBA Expert

Elite Legendary Member
Followed by:511 members
GMAT Score:800

by [email protected] » Mon Sep 29, 2014 10:39 pm
Hi jwagner2718,

To figure out why you're unable to get past a particular scoring level, some analysis is in order. You have to look at HOW you're approaching questions and factor in a number of details:

1) How often are you getting questions wrong because of a silly/minor mistake?
2) How often are you getting questions wrong because you consider the question to be "too hard?"
3) Do you have a pacing problem in the Quant section (and do you have to guess on questions at the end just to finish on time?)?
4) Are you taking your CATs in a realistic way?
5) Are you taking your CATs in such a way so that you can maximize your performance?

I'm hoping that you can answer a few additional questions too:
1) What materials have you been using to study?
2) When if your Official Test Date?

GMAT assassins aren't born, they're made,
Rich
Contact Rich at [email protected]

Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

by jwagner2718 » Tue Sep 30, 2014 7:23 pm
Hi Rich,

Thanks for your reply. In answer to your questions: