Should I re-take Gmat?

Free advice from the world's top MBA consultants
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

Should I re-take Gmat?

by CHANG YANG » Wed Sep 24, 2014 9:06 am
Hi,
my name is Chang and I am from China as you can tell from my last name. I have taken Gmat and got 660 ( v:27 M:51).And I am going to apply accounting major at UW (Foster) and Southern University of California.

Here is my profile: my GPA is currently 3.8+ and I was an intern at Pricewaterhousecoopers (PWC) Shanghai Office for a month. Also I worked as an intern at China Unicom (a local branch) for 2 months. China Unicom is one of the 500 fortune. I do not have too much extracurricular activities and I did attend Food Drive once.

Based on my profile, should I re-take gmat to bounce my score? Thank you very much.

Senior | Next Rank: 100 Posts
Followed by:5 members

by Dozie@VeritasPrep » Thu Sep 25, 2014 2:26 pm
Thanks for sharing your profile. I would say based on the information provided I think you are fine on your GMAT and given your high GPA I don't think there should be too many questions about your aptitude. Your verbal score looked a little low so hopefully you're TOEFL score will not cause a red flag here. With schools like USC and UW I would also recommend showcasing your interest and highlighting fit where applicable. Although you stated you had minimal extra-curriculars sometimes hobbies can serve as an insight into your interest into how you spend your time outside of school and work. If there is anything relevant there I would find a way to incorporate so you don't come across as too one-dimensional

Hope this helps!
Veritas Prep | Veritas Prep Admissions Consultant

Find the expert who's right for you. Meet our team!
Register for a free MBA Admissions Workshop!

Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

by CHANG YANG » Fri Sep 26, 2014 12:15 pm