• PrepScholar GMAT
    5 Day FREE Trial
    Study Smarter, Not Harder

    Available with Beat the GMAT members only code

    MORE DETAILS
    PrepScholar GMAT
  • Veritas Prep
    Free Veritas GMAT Class
    Experience Lesson 1 Live Free

    Available with Beat the GMAT members only code

    MORE DETAILS
    Veritas Prep
  • Varsity Tutors
    Award-winning private GMAT tutoring
    Register now and save up to $200

    Available with Beat the GMAT members only code

    MORE DETAILS
    Varsity Tutors
  • Target Test Prep
    5-Day Free Trial
    5-day free, full-access trial TTP Quant

    Available with Beat the GMAT members only code

    MORE DETAILS
    Target Test Prep
  • EMPOWERgmat Slider
    1 Hour Free
    BEAT THE GMAT EXCLUSIVE

    Available with Beat the GMAT members only code

    MORE DETAILS
    EMPOWERgmat Slider
  • e-gmat Exclusive Offer
    Get 300+ Practice Questions
    25 Video lessons and 6 Webinars for FREE

    Available with Beat the GMAT members only code

    MORE DETAILS
    e-gmat Exclusive Offer
  • Economist Test Prep
    Free Trial & Practice Exam
    BEAT THE GMAT EXCLUSIVE

    Available with Beat the GMAT members only code

    MORE DETAILS
    Economist Test Prep
  • Kaplan Test Prep
    Free Practice Test & Review
    How would you score if you took the GMAT

    Available with Beat the GMAT members only code

    MORE DETAILS
    Kaplan Test Prep
  • Magoosh
    Magoosh
    Study with Magoosh GMAT prep

    Available with Beat the GMAT members only code

    MORE DETAILS
    Magoosh

Review of gmatinsight - GMAT PREP INDIA

This topic has 5 member replies
JayVellani Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts Default Avatar
Joined
20 Mar 2014
Posted:
1 messages

Review of gmatinsight - GMAT PREP INDIA

Post Fri May 02, 2014 7:32 am
I wanted to share my GMAT story as I have benefited from many on this forum. I had already written the exam before but did not get the score I was looking for so decided to give it another shot and started studying back in October 2013 with Dr. Sushma Jha and Mr. Bhoopendra Singh of gmatinsight in hopes of writing it in January 2014. I ended up writing the exam in April as work and holiday season got in the way. I finished the GMAT with a score of 690 (47 quant and 38 verbal) and now want to give a fair review of my experience with Gmatinsight. GMATinsight based out of New Delhi, India provides one on one training to students over Skype...my experience with them was an interesting one so I wanted to share this with anyone who might be looking for similar support.
VERBAL - good
I would like to start by saying that studying with Dr. Jha was an amazing experience... she is a very passionate and knowledgeable teacher... She had her curriculum mapped out very well and was very efficient in teaching all the concepts that appear in the verbal section of the GMAT ... She was available most of the time over Skype or email when I had any issues... They were times when she was not able due to conflicts with other students or confusion due to the time difference between Indian and North America, but she made up for everything with the encouragement and passion she brought to every class...I did find that the communication was not always done properly and not everyone was kept in the loop ... Even after I requested multiple times that both teachers be on the emails so communication is not lost, it was not done. So coordination was a hassle, but her teach method and organization were good. Taking up problem questions was also good as Dr. Jha was able to give good explanations for each question.
Overall the experience with Dr. Jha was satisfactory and she is a wonderful resource to have for your verbal section.
QUANT - Bad, Worse to Ugly
The Quant section at GMATinsight is taught by Mr. Singh.... I am sad to say that I don't think I have met a more disorganized and disinterested teacher before... In my first class with Mr. Singh the very first question he asked me was "Tell me ??" I was confused as I thought he would be more prepared to teach me all of the sections of the Quant section...But I felt like I am already expected to know math concepts that Mr. Singh never covered in class....there was no agenda or structure to his classes.. He simply gave me a sheet of paper with questions which were "memory-based" .... These were questions that students had recalled from the exams... And I might add that most of these questions had typos and language mistakes which made me question the credibility of every question that I read... I would spend 2-3 hours per day for my preparation out of which most of it went in frustration because of these errors...I had to eventually look for my own resources to do the Quant prep....
When I requested Mr. Singh to provide me with some structure and agenda for the classes.....my request was ignored for the first 6 classes...after that he emailed me the PDF version of the Manhattan books asking me to go over the books and do the homework from these books ...this was his version of providing structure !! If I had to do Manhattan prep I would've gone and done Manhattan prep and not reached out to him in the first place... I felt cheated and deceived... But since I had already paid in full for all the classes I decided to continue...ALSO, Besides the dogs barking and the children playing which added to the background noise ...Mr. Singh was also not very punctual with his classes, a lot of times he did not show up at the allocated time which was 6 AM North American time and 4 PM in India... and if I ever had a class in the morning hours for him ...I could barely understand him over his drowsy voice. This happened at least four or five times... As my exam was closing I realized that time spent with Mr. Singh was not efficient and I eventually seek other resources...and did my own studying but reached out to him for doubts when I was not able to answer some questions and didnt find a solution online .....This is when I realized that my money is lost and I should just try to get other help ..... The teaching style that Mr. Singh adopted was unique to me, for example anytime I would ask a question the response would be "this question is stupid or silly"...His responses were down right rude at times... The class with Mr. Singh felt like a session where he shows off his math skills and does the questions really quickly and you are suppose to be able to follow ...I came to a point of frustration and did not reach out to him at all before my exam as it was apparent that he didnt care to teach. Overall I was very disappointed with Mr. Singh and his approach to teach.... I would recommend GMATinsight for students who are seeking verbal help and for Quant I would choose some other resource... The secondary resource that I use for Quant was empowergmat, which worked out very well for me as it was well structure and the modules covered every detail and trick to tackle all the topics on the GMAT. With empowergmat I made more progress in 3 weeks than I did with Mr. Singh in 4 months.

Need free GMAT or MBA advice from an expert? Register for Beat The GMAT now and post your question in these forums!
sharma73 Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts Default Avatar
Joined
09 Aug 2010
Posted:
1 messages
Post Sun May 11, 2014 3:28 pm
JayVellani wrote:
I wanted to share my GMAT story as I have benefited from many on this forum. I had already written the exam before but did not get the score I was looking for so decided to give it another shot and started studying back in October 2013 with Dr. Sushma Jha and Mr. Bhoopendra Singh of gmatinsight in hopes of writing it in January 2014. I ended up writing the exam in April as work and holiday season got in the way. I finished the GMAT with a score of 690 (47 quant and 38 verbal) and now want to give a fair review of my experience with Gmatinsight. GMATinsight based out of New Delhi, India provides one on one training to students over Skype...my experience with them was an interesting one so I wanted to share this with anyone who might be looking for similar support.
VERBAL - good
I would like to start by saying that studying with Dr. Jha was an amazing experience... she is a very passionate and knowledgeable teacher... She had her curriculum mapped out very well and was very efficient in teaching all the concepts that appear in the verbal section of the GMAT ... She was available most of the time over Skype or email when I had any issues... They were times when she was not able due to conflicts with other students or confusion due to the time difference between Indian and North America, but she made up for everything with the encouragement and passion she brought to every class...I did find that the communication was not always done properly and not everyone was kept in the loop ... Even after I requested multiple times that both teachers be on the emails so communication is not lost, it was not done. So coordination was a hassle, but her teach method and organization were good. Taking up problem questions was also good as Dr. Jha was able to give good explanations for each question.
Overall the experience with Dr. Jha was satisfactory and she is a wonderful resource to have for your verbal section.
QUANT - Bad, Worse to Ugly
The Quant section at GMATinsight is taught by Mr. Singh.... I am sad to say that I don't think I have met a more disorganized and disinterested teacher before... In my first class with Mr. Singh the very first question he asked me was "Tell me ??" I was confused as I thought he would be more prepared to teach me all of the sections of the Quant section...But I felt like I am already expected to know math concepts that Mr. Singh never covered in class....there was no agenda or structure to his classes.. He simply gave me a sheet of paper with questions which were "memory-based" .... These were questions that students had recalled from the exams... And I might add that most of these questions had typos and language mistakes which made me question the credibility of every question that I read... I would spend 2-3 hours per day for my preparation out of which most of it went in frustration because of these errors...I had to eventually look for my own resources to do the Quant prep....
When I requested Mr. Singh to provide me with some structure and agenda for the classes.....my request was ignored for the first 6 classes...after that he emailed me the PDF version of the Manhattan books asking me to go over the books and do the homework from these books ...this was his version of providing structure !! If I had to do Manhattan prep I would've gone and done Manhattan prep and not reached out to him in the first place... I felt cheated and deceived... But since I had already paid in full for all the classes I decided to continue...ALSO, Besides the dogs barking and the children playing which added to the background noise ...Mr. Singh was also not very punctual with his classes, a lot of times he did not show up at the allocated time which was 6 AM North American time and 4 PM in India... and if I ever had a class in the morning hours for him ...I could barely understand him over his drowsy voice. This happened at least four or five times... As my exam was closing I realized that time spent with Mr. Singh was not efficient and I eventually seek other resources...and did my own studying but reached out to him for doubts when I was not able to answer some questions and didnt find a solution online .....This is when I realized that my money is lost and I should just try to get other help ..... The teaching style that Mr. Singh adopted was unique to me, for example anytime I would ask a question the response would be "this question is stupid or silly"...His responses were down right rude at times... The class with Mr. Singh felt like a session where he shows off his math skills and does the questions really quickly and you are suppose to be able to follow ...I came to a point of frustration and did not reach out to him at all before my exam as it was apparent that he didnt care to teach. Overall I was very disappointed with Mr. Singh and his approach to teach.... I would recommend GMATinsight for students who are seeking verbal help and for Quant I would choose some other resource... The secondary resource that I use for Quant was empowergmat, which worked out very well for me as it was well structure and the modules covered every detail and trick to tackle all the topics on the GMAT. With empowergmat I made more progress in 3 weeks than I did with Mr. Singh in 4 months.
I don't agree with your comments regarding Mr. Singh. As a teacher, he drags you to a level where you are given an adequate education to stay abreast in a standardized test like GMAT. I am currently taking classes with both the instructors, but never encountered any issues with them. I am in a way surprised when I read your comment on Mr. Singh. He teaches you what you need to learn, and since you are placing yourself for GMAT, you should do some homework that you are not going to get 1+1=2 theory. If I was not happy with their teaching, I would ask for refund. Did that ever occur to you? Did you demand anything like that? Did they ever say, "sorry you lost your money"? You should understand that they are there to help you by promoting you to a challenge and the only reason is just to see your excellence. I feel sorry for you that 690 is a wash score.

kherarohan8 Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts Default Avatar
Joined
10 May 2014
Posted:
3 messages
Thanked:
5 times
Post Sat May 31, 2014 6:54 am
Even I beg to defer here from Mr JayVellani.

I had done my preparation under guidance of both the faculties whose names you mentioned here and I surprisingly found them two of the best GMAT tutors available. I took my classes earlier with another institute which I wouldn't like to name here and there I messed my score. Not that the institute and tutors were the reason for my bad score instead because I had no attention of tutors to discuss my problem area and I worked on most of my problem areas myself therefore probably I couldn't build my concepts as well as they should have been to get my dream score. The classes there were helpful but too fast that it was difficult for me to understand everything with their pace.

In the class of 30-40 other students I found myself struggling while working on my basics and couldn't get the best out of the classes.

That's when one of my friends recommended me to the gmatinsight.com guys and after I took the demo with them, I felt good about their methodology to work on individual problem areas as it was one on one class and I had the entire attention during every session. All my apprehensions and pre conceived notions concerning the efficiency of online classes proved wrong soon when I could conquer my fear of maths and my mistakes in Verbal.

so personally, I find a great contribution of Dr.Sushma Jha and Mr.Bhoopendra Singh in my GMAT score of 700 which is good enough for me to seek admission in universities of my choice.

Two things in your comment that are not making any sense to me are:

1) It makes it difficult for me to figure out the reason for them to have a distinguished behavior towards you and makes no sense to me. Anyway I agree with the idea of sharma73 that you should have asked for refund if you were unhappy.

2) Surprisingly your score is not as bad as your feedback is about gmatinsight and the tutor of Quant. and your comment about your improvement with other resource in just 3 week and no improvement in 16 weeks with their tutoring makes NO SENSE to me. Frankly I feel that if you could benefited by the resource in 3 weeks then the foundation to understand and use that source must have been strengthened by their teaching.

No offense but Think about it.

jamesfrank Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts Default Avatar
Joined
28 Jan 2015
Posted:
2 messages
Post Wed Jan 28, 2015 11:52 pm
Surprisingly your score is not as bad as your feedback is about gmatinsight and the tutor of Quant. and your comment about your improvement with other resource in just 3 week and no improvement in 16 weeks with their tutoring makes NO SENSE to me. Frankly I feel that if you could benefited by the resource in 3 weeks then the foundation to understand and use that source must have been strengthened by their teaching.

jamesfrank Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts Default Avatar
Joined
28 Jan 2015
Posted:
2 messages
Post Wed Jan 28, 2015 11:52 pm
Surprisingly your score is 70-487 not as bad as your feedback is about gmatinsight and the tutor of Quant. and your comment about your improvement with other resource in just 3 week and no improvement in 16 weeks with their tutoring makes NO SENSE to me. Frankly I feel that if you could benefited by the resource in 3 weeks then the foundation to understand and use that source must have been strengthened by their teaching.

akashbolster Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts Default Avatar
Joined
20 Apr 2014
Posted:
1 messages
Post Sun Oct 08, 2017 7:19 am
She is the worst teacher I ever had in my life. She took around 19k INR from me for verbal and have taught nothing. She just gave me some basic idea, which anyone can get with little bit of google searching. Furthermore, she is not sincere towards her students and wanted to complete the course without giving much knowledge. Once the course will get complete then after that she will not entertain you and will give you excuse that she is busy and can't solve it now.

I suggest don't hire her as a personal tutor if you really want to clear GMAT. She is greedy too!!

Best Conversation Starters

1 LUANDATO 148 topics
2 lheiannie07 91 topics
3 Roland2rule 79 topics
4 AAPL 66 topics
5 ardz24 64 topics
See More Top Beat The GMAT Members...

Most Active Experts

1 image description EconomistGMATTutor

The Economist GMAT Tutor

157 posts
2 image description Jay@ManhattanReview

Manhattan Review

128 posts
3 image description GMATGuruNY

The Princeton Review Teacher

127 posts
4 image description Rich.C@EMPOWERgma...

EMPOWERgmat

120 posts
5 image description Brent@GMATPrepNow

GMAT Prep Now Teacher

109 posts
See More Top Beat The GMAT Experts