Retaking the Gmat

This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

Retaking the Gmat

by pcm182 » Thu Dec 08, 2016 1:36 pm
Hey Guys,

So i took the gmat a month and a half ago. I did the veritas books and the course pack. After that I got a private tutor for a month and a half. I studied around 9 months. My goals is to get a 700. My first practice test I got a 420, second I got a 490. So i saw I was improving. The day of the test I got a 350. To say the least it was soul crushing. I spent almost a year of my life to get a lower score. Afterwards i decided not to go to business school anymore.

It took sometime and I am back. This is my goal so I am going to really go for it. Something that I really saw was lacking last time was a study plan. This time I am doing the magoosh study plan to really increase my score and going all out. I was wondering if you guys have any recommendations for someone retaking the test? Mindset? Also what are somethings that you think affected my score negatively so much? The weird thing is that the day of the test I wasn't really scared but enjoying it! Thanks in advance for your input.

GMAT/MBA Expert

Elite Legendary Member
Followed by:511 members
GMAT Score:800

by [email protected] » Thu Dec 08, 2016 6:16 pm
Hi pcm182,

Raising a 350 to a 700+ will take some serious work, and you'll have to make some significant improvements to how you handle BOTH the Quant and Verbal sections. The good news is that the GMAT is a consistent, predictable Exam, so you CAN train to score at a higher level. It's also possible that you don't necessarily need a 700+ score to get into your first choice Business School. Before I can offer you the specific advice that you're looking for, it would help if you could provide a bit more information on how you've been studying and your goals:

Studies: