Retake the GMAT? (and resume review)

Free advice from the world's top MBA consultants
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

Retake the GMAT? (and resume review)

by daftdg » Wed Aug 20, 2008 6:37 am
Hey All-

I am currently a student at the law school at the University of Pennsylvania and was hoping to do a joint degree at Wharton. I took the GMAT and scored a 690 which is way lower than on the practice tests I had taken (720,730,760). What is your opinion on retaking? Here are the rest of my credentials:

- Nationality & Basic Info: US, Male, 26yo
- Overall GPA: 3.33 undergrad with improvement at the end, 3.25 law school (so far)
- Major: Computer Science (Graduation with distinction, honors thesis) and Classical Studies. Early graduation in 3.5 years.
- College: Top 10 undergrad, Top 6 Law School
- GMAT: 690 (42M -- 65%,42V --95%)
- Recommendations: I will have one rec from a prof who teaches at the law school and used to teach at wharton as well as another prof. I will also have a rec from a well known US businessman.
- Resume highlights + job info: 2 years doing application development at a small financial services shop, then worked on a startup with aforementioned business guy, and started my own website which I sold my stake in to the other co-founder
- Work Accomplishments: Promoted to team leader, founder of own website etc.
- Extracurricular Involvements: Member of a variety of clubs, started a club here at school, Executive committee of fraternity etc.
- Awards: Deans list a couple times, graduation with distinction
- Interesting personal facts - countries lived in, challenges faced, unusual interests: Lived in Australia (12 mos), Thailand (2), and Greece (2).

In the end, I'm just curious if I am a good candidate and if I have a shot at Wharton with my current score. Thanks for your help.

daft

MBA Admissions Consultant
Followed by:6 members

by Scottie@VeritasPrep » Wed Aug 20, 2008 8:36 am