• Kaplan Test Prep
    Free Practice Test & Review
    How would you score if you took the GMAT

    Available with Beat the GMAT members only code

    MORE DETAILS
    Kaplan Test Prep
  • Varsity Tutors
    Award-winning private GMAT tutoring
    Register now and save up to $200

    Available with Beat the GMAT members only code

    MORE DETAILS
    Varsity Tutors
  • e-gmat Exclusive Offer
    Get 300+ Practice Questions
    25 Video lessons and 6 Webinars for FREE

    Available with Beat the GMAT members only code

    MORE DETAILS
    e-gmat Exclusive Offer
  • Economist Test Prep
    Free Trial & Practice Exam
    BEAT THE GMAT EXCLUSIVE

    Available with Beat the GMAT members only code

    MORE DETAILS
    Economist Test Prep
  • Magoosh
    Magoosh
    Study with Magoosh GMAT prep

    Available with Beat the GMAT members only code

    MORE DETAILS
    Magoosh
  • PrepScholar GMAT
    5 Day FREE Trial
    Study Smarter, Not Harder

    Available with Beat the GMAT members only code

    MORE DETAILS
    PrepScholar GMAT
  • Target Test Prep
    5-Day Free Trial
    5-day free, full-access trial TTP Quant

    Available with Beat the GMAT members only code

    MORE DETAILS
    Target Test Prep
  • Veritas Prep
    Free Veritas GMAT Class
    Experience Lesson 1 Live Free

    Available with Beat the GMAT members only code

    MORE DETAILS
    Veritas Prep
  • EMPOWERgmat Slider
    1 Hour Free
    BEAT THE GMAT EXCLUSIVE

    Available with Beat the GMAT members only code

    MORE DETAILS
    EMPOWERgmat Slider

Q.104, PS GMAT Review 13th Edition

This topic has 4 expert replies and 1 member reply
Priyaranjan Junior | Next Rank: 30 Posts Default Avatar
Joined
04 Mar 2015
Posted:
25 messages
Thanked:
1 times
Target GMAT Score:
700

Q.104, PS GMAT Review 13th Edition

Post Fri Apr 10, 2015 4:55 pm
Elapsed Time: 00:00
  • Lap #[LAPCOUNT] ([LAPTIME])
    Q. If a square mirror has a 20 inch diagonal, what is the appropriate perimeter of the mirror, in inches?

    A) 40
    B) 60
    C) 80
    D) 100
    E) 120

    Need free GMAT or MBA advice from an expert? Register for Beat The GMAT now and post your question in these forums!
    Post Fri Apr 10, 2015 8:07 pm
    Priyaranjan wrote:
    Q. If a square mirror has a 20 inch diagonal, what is the appropriate perimeter of the mirror, in inches?

    A) 40
    B) 60
    C) 80
    D) 100
    E) 120
    Let x = the length of one side of the square
    The diagonal creates a right triangle with each leg having length x and the hypotenuse with length 20.
    Plug these values into the Pythagorean Theorem to get: x² + x² = 20²
    Simplify: 2x² = 400
    Divide both sides by 2 to get x² = 200
    So, x = √200
    Rewrite as x = 10√2

    NOTE: For the GMAT, you should memorize approximations for √2, √3 and √5
    √2 ≈ 1.4
    So, 10√2 ≈ (10)1.4 ≈ 14

    If each side of the square has length 14, then the perimeter of the square = (4)(14) = 56

    The best approximation is B (60)

    Cheers,
    Brent

    _________________
    Brent Hanneson – Founder of GMATPrepNow.com
    Use our video course along with Beat The GMAT's free 60-Day Study Guide

    Check out the online reviews of our course
    Come see all of our free resources

    Thanked by: Priyaranjan
    GMAT Prep Now's comprehensive video course can be used in conjunction with Beat The GMAT’s FREE 60-Day Study Guide and reach your target score in 2 months!
    Priyaranjan Junior | Next Rank: 30 Posts Default Avatar
    Joined
    04 Mar 2015
    Posted:
    25 messages
    Thanked:
    1 times
    Target GMAT Score:
    700
    Post Sun Apr 12, 2015 12:41 am
    Sir,

    I've got the same result, but followed another rule of the Triangles.

    As this was a 90-45-45 degree triangle, the ratio of their sides would be xMad:√2x.
    As √2x=20,x=20/√2.
    Perimeter= 20*4/√2=80/√2≈57.1... (where √2=1.4)
    So, the approximate value would be option B)60.

    Kindly let me know about the process.

    Thanking you

    Brent@GMATPrepNow wrote:
    Priyaranjan wrote:
    Q. If a square mirror has a 20 inch diagonal, what is the appropriate perimeter of the mirror, in inches?

    A) 40
    B) 60
    C) 80
    D) 100
    E) 120
    Let x = the length of one side of the square
    The diagonal creates a right triangle with each leg having length x and the hypotenuse with length 20.
    Plug these values into the Pythagorean Theorem to get: x² + x² = 20²
    Simplify: 2x² = 400
    Divide both sides by 2 to get x² = 200
    So, x = √200
    Rewrite as x = 10√2

    NOTE: For the GMAT, you should memorize approximations for √2, √3 and √5
    √2 ≈ 1.4
    So, 10√2 ≈ (10)1.4 ≈ 14

    If each side of the square has length 14, then the perimeter of the square = (4)(14) = 56

    The best approximation is B (60)

    Cheers,
    Brent

    Post Sun Apr 12, 2015 2:26 am
    Quote:
    If a square mirror has a 20-inch diagonal what is the closest approximate perimeter of the mirror, in inches?
    A- 40
    B- 60
    C- 80
    D- 100
    E- 120
    The diagonal of a square with side s = s√2.
    Every test-taker should know that √2 ≈ 1.4.

    We can PLUG IN THE ANSWERS, which represent the perimeter of the mirror.
    When the correct answer is plugged in, the diagonal ≈ 20.

    Answer choice D: 100
    Since p=100, s=25.
    Too big:
    The side of the square cannot be longer than the diagonal.
    Since the correct answer must be smaller, eliminate D and E.

    Answer choice B: 60
    Since p=60, s=15.
    Diagonal = 15√2 ≈ (15)(1.4) = 21.
    Success!

    The correct answer is B.

    _________________
    Mitch Hunt
    GMAT Private Tutor
    GMATGuruNY@gmail.com
    If you find one of my posts helpful, please take a moment to click on the "Thank" icon.
    Available for tutoring in NYC and long-distance.
    For more information, please email me at GMATGuruNY@gmail.com.

    Thanked by: Priyaranjan
    Free GMAT Practice Test How can you improve your test score if you don't know your baseline score? Take a free online practice exam. Get started on achieving your dream score today! Sign up now.
    Post Sun Apr 12, 2015 6:21 am
    Priyaranjan wrote:
    Sir,

    I've got the same result, but followed another rule of the Triangles.

    As this was a 90-45-45 degree triangle, the ratio of their sides would be xMad:√2x.
    As √2x=20,x=20/√2.
    Perimeter= 20*4/√2=80/√2≈57.1... (where √2=1.4)
    So, the approximate value would be option B)60.

    Kindly let me know about the process.

    Thanking you

    Hi Priyaranjan,

    Your solution is perfect. It's quite similar to mine, except you used the rule about the ratios of a 45-45-90 triangle, and I used the Pythagorean Theorem to (essentially) duplicate that ratio.

    Cheers,
    Brent

    _________________
    Brent Hanneson – Founder of GMATPrepNow.com
    Use our video course along with Beat The GMAT's free 60-Day Study Guide

    Check out the online reviews of our course
    Come see all of our free resources

    Thanked by: Priyaranjan
    GMAT Prep Now's comprehensive video course can be used in conjunction with Beat The GMAT’s FREE 60-Day Study Guide and reach your target score in 2 months!
    Post Fri Jun 26, 2015 8:43 am
    Priyaranjan wrote:
    Q. If a square mirror has a 20 inch diagonal, what is the appropriate perimeter of the mirror, in inches?

    A) 40
    B) 60
    C) 80
    D) 100
    E) 120
    Solution:

    We are given that a square has a 20-inch diagonal, and we must find the perimeter of the square. We first need to determine the length of the side of the square. To determine the length of the side, we note that the diagonal of a square is also the hypotenuse of a 45-45-90 triangle, with length ratio of s : s : s√2, where s is the length of one of the sides. We thus can use this knowledge to see that: diagonal of a square = side√2 = s√2

    20 = s√2

    s = 20/√2

    Notice that there is a square root in the denominator, which is an inappropriate form. The fraction must be re-expressed by the technique called "rationalizing the denominator." We can multiply 20/√2 by √2/√2. This gives us:

    s = (20/√2) X (√2/√2)

    s = (20√2)/√4

    s = (20√2)/2

    s = 10√2

    We also should have memorized that the approximate value of √2 is 1.4. Thus, one side of the square is about 10 x 1.4 = 14 inches.

    Finally, the perimeter of the square is about 4 x 14 = 56 inches. Since we are asked to approximate, the closest answer is 60.

    Answer: B

    Best Conversation Starters

    1 LUANDATO 157 topics
    2 lheiannie07 87 topics
    3 Roland2rule 75 topics
    4 ardz24 64 topics
    5 AAPL 58 topics
    See More Top Beat The GMAT Members...

    Most Active Experts

    1 image description EconomistGMATTutor

    The Economist GMAT Tutor

    163 posts
    2 image description GMATGuruNY

    The Princeton Review Teacher

    133 posts
    3 image description Jay@ManhattanReview

    Manhattan Review

    128 posts
    4 image description Rich.C@EMPOWERgma...

    EMPOWERgmat

    121 posts
    5 image description Brent@GMATPrepNow

    GMAT Prep Now Teacher

    100 posts
    See More Top Beat The GMAT Experts