Profile evaluation...thanks

Free advice from the world's top MBA consultants
This topic has expert replies
Junior | Next Rank: 30 Posts

Profile evaluation...thanks

by Sunny143 » Fri Aug 15, 2008 5:46 pm
Hello Nikhil,

Here is my profile. Can you please look through it and suggest some guidance on the questions I have. Thanks.

Indian, Male, 29 yrs(will be 30+ when I start, if accepted!).

Education:
Engineer by profession, from a top state university in India(non IIT) and graduated with 80+%(top 10 of the class).
Acads have been strong throughout, scored more than 90% in both class X and XII( High School, was the class topper).

GMAT: 700(48Q, 38V) --- >80 percentile in both.

My strenght is my work ex which is as follows:
Work Experience
-Working as a portfolio manager in the US for the last 2 years( one of the youngest portfolio managers in my company which is a huge global IT blue chip)
-Total Experience 7.5 years...will be 9+ when I apply in 2010.
-Manage X million USD in revenue
-Manage 40+ people both from a project perspective as well from a career manager perspective
-Strong numerical results to show in terms of revenue, PTI, client sat index etc
-Top Talent in my organization( the executive grooming pipeline) - Only a few get nominated and continue.

So, though my demographics are not my strong point( Indian, M, IT) but I hope my work ex gives me an edge since I have had continuous progress thoughout my short career.
I can get good recos I believe and write good essays I hope!

Extracurrics
Not a very strong point in my app but I do have a few.
I am the US state lead for my state for practitioners from my company who come to my state. I have executed this role for the past 2 years and lead a team of around 15 in the state, corodinating get togethers, team building exercises, acting as a single point of contact, providing feedback on company policies etc.