Profile evaluation: Retail sales manager

Free advice from the world's top MBA consultants
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
Good evening!

I am on this forum to see what the professionals think of my profile and my chances of getting into a top business school program. I am a 28 year old white male. I graduated with a 2.7 GPA, with a degree in Political Science, at a top Californian public university. After college I took business math, Calculus, and accounting at a local university and I received As respectively in each of them. I have 5 years of work experience and 2.5 years as a manager at a rental car company averaging between 6 - 100 employees being managed by me. I don't want to make my application to business school about the reasons why I didn't do well in college: depression and a lack of proper decision making with course choices. What I want to make my application about is my successes - after - college. I have been promoted multiple times, to several rental car branches, and I have performed exceptionally at each of them. I have also taken several post-graduation courses at a local university and I got As in all of them. I don't necessarily have a strong extracurricular story to tell after college. I was heavily engaged in the Associated Student Government and working with political clubs on campus as director. I loved being active outside academic life. I made a commitment to myself to succeed in my career so ive put a lot of work in ny career life and post graduation academics. Im worried this will negatively will affect me the most. What I have been trying to figure out is something that I can get back into that won't take all my time. Also, I have been reading over GMAT prep books for the last couple months and I recently scored 720 on a practice exam. My reason to go to business school is to take my career to the next level and get professional training in management consulting or sales management (general management). How