Profile Evaluation please

Launched April 26, 2006
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

Profile Evaluation please

by arags01 » Wed Nov 01, 2006 2:40 pm
Hi Stacy,

I retook the GMAT last night and unfortunately ended up with the same score (Q 47 V 30 - 640). I had been scoring in the 720s on my practice tests and I have no idea what went wrong. I am interested in applying next year and would like to target 1 ultra, 1 semi and 2 top 10-20 schools (for ex. Chicago, Michigan, Duke and Stern). I might give GMAT one more shot..but only after my applications.

Here's some background on me..I graduated from the Ohio State University (major:Industrial Engineering, minor: Info. Systems) with an overall GPA of 3.25. I am a consultant at Deloitte and have been working in the Healthcare IT field for about 3+ years. Prior to joining Deloitte, I worked for a Healthcare software company (Cerner) for about 2 years. I am interested in pursuing a marketing strategy career and would like to combine my healthcare experience as well. Due to my constant travel, I am unable to actively participate in community service events but I do volunteer occasionally. I have been invited to help organize a basketball tournament for the Multiple Sclerosis society in Chicago and will be involved with the event from Nov-Jan. I wanted to enhance my public speaking skills and therefore joined Toastmasters in Oakland, CA (Feb-current). I am also involved with a few internal acitivities within the firm.

Just some additional info: Born in Tanzania, lived in India and the US (US citizen).. Not sure if I fall under the Indian Male pool..

So based on my limited information, do you think I have a chance at a top school? Any ones in particular? Is there anything else I could do to be more competitive at these schools? Your feedback is greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

AR

GMAT/MBA Expert

MBA Admissions Consultant
Followed by:113 members

by Stacy Blackman » Thu Nov 02, 2006 11:33 am