Strong background, but no admits. Any tips?

Share tips as you apply, write essays, interview...
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

Strong background, but no admits. Any tips?

by sgj001 » Wed Jun 14, 2017 4:40 pm
Over the past 2 years I've applied to 6 B-schools (HBS, Stanford, Chicago Booth, Wharton, MIT, and Emory), but I've only gotten dings. I got interviews with Booth and Emory, wait-listed at Emory, but no accepts. I feel like my background is fairly strong (info below), but something seems to be off for applications. My GMAT is a bit lopsided (I got a speeding ticket going to the test and was rattled going through IR and AWA), so I'm curious if that's the issue, or if the 730 overall should be good enough and the issue is something else. I'll post some of the broad stroke info about me below. If anything stands out as a red flag, I'd love to hear it.

Background
White - Male - 27
GMAT: 730 (47Q - 44V - 4AWA - 4IR)
Degree: Computer Science (from a top 5 CompSci school in US)
GPA: 3.87
Interest for B-school: Entrepreneurship/Private Equity
Work: Big Data Software firm (Multiple promotions and professional accolades for building successful software products)

Potential Negatives
White - Male
Uneven GMAT score
Software background
Interest in Entrepreneurship?

Senior | Next Rank: 100 Posts

by EduSimplified » Wed Jun 14, 2017 9:57 pm