Just staring out, need input on study plan

This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

Just staring out, need input on study plan

by tittoo » Mon May 29, 2017 2:48 pm
Hi everyone,

I am just starting out with my GMAT studying.

I took the MGMAT CAT 1 this weekend, without any studying.
I completed all sections: Essay, IR, Quant and Verbal

Scores:
IR 2.4
Q38
V34
Overall 590

My experience from the initial practice test:

- timing was not an issue for me. I completed all sections well ahead of time. I had 10 minutes left on quant, 20 minutes left on verbal when I finished.

- stamina was also not an issue for me. I could comfortably sit for that amount of time and take the test without any problems.

- I felt comfortable with the verbal section but definitely need to practice more

- Quant and IR were difficult. I felt like I was guessing on a lot of the questions. I have a science background so I am definitely disappointed in my initial quant score :(

I am planning to take the GMAT in mid August, and my goal is 700+.
I need to clear at least 90th percentile on quant and 70th percentile on verbal, with overall minimum score of 700+ to get into my desired graduate program.

I have the official guides, and Manhattan Guides book set.

How should I structure my studying to achieve my goals? I can devote 3-4 evenings on weekdays and all weekends to studying.
Are there any other books or resources I should get for my studying?

I look forward to your input.

Thanks!

Legendary Member
Followed by:128 members
GMAT Score:770

by DavidG@VeritasPrep » Mon May 29, 2017 3:18 pm
tittoo wrote:Hi everyone,

Scores:
IR 2.4
Q38
V34
Overall 590

- timing was not an issue for me. I completed all sections well ahead of time. I had 10 minutes left on quant, 20 minutes left on verbal when I finished.

- stamina was also not an issue for me. I could comfortably sit for that amount of time and take the test without any problems.