Gmat Prep Questions

This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

Gmat Prep Questions

by bob1123 » Thu Jan 12, 2017 2:26 pm
I am an Electrical Engineer from a good school looking to get my MBA. I need a score of 660 to get free tuition at the school I'm interested in. About two weeks ago I bought a used set of the 5th edition Manhattan study books (without online access). In a very short period, I read through all ten of the Manhattan study books and completed all the practice problems within. I did not take a practice exam. I really need the 660 to make getting an MBA worth it. I took the GMAT for the first time today. I got a 600 (40 quantitative, and 32 verbal). I finished the quantitative section of the test with seventeen minutes to spare. I really expected a higher score. I was really surprised at how low my math score was considering I deal with difficult high level math on a daily basis. I got a 32 on the ACT back in high school, so it's not like I don't perform on standardized tests. How should I plan to study in preparation for taking the test again?

GMAT/MBA Expert

Elite Legendary Member
Followed by:511 members
GMAT Score:800

by [email protected] » Thu Jan 12, 2017 3:06 pm
Hi bob1123,

Based on what you described, it sounds like you studied for just a couple of weeks by working through a series of books (but without ever actually measuring your progress or readiness to take the GMAT) and then scored 600 on the Official Test. There are several 'issues' with how you've chosen to approach this process - and we have to define them before we can fix them and you can hit your goal score.