Small progress is still progress! Stay Motivated!

This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
Followed by:2 members
I took an initial practice CAT (GMATprep) a little less than 3 weeks ago. Scored a 560. Q31, v36.

Afterwards I began my studies with the OG, Magoosh and the MGMAT books. I've been studying about 2 hours a day and 4-5 hours each weekend day. Except for this past week where I was sick and had no energy to study. I finished the 1st MGMAT (FDP) book and I am halfway through the second. I took my second practice CAT today (MGMAT) and scored a 590 Q34, V36.

I know this is barely any progress, but after reviewing my score, I did well on the topics that I have been studying. This at least gives me hope that I am retaining the information that I'm studying!

I will say that this is not an easy process. It can be mentally exhausting and takes a lot of discipline, but I am trusting that the hard work will pay off. 3 weeks into my journey to hopefully achieving a score over 700!

Long road ahead...

GMAT/MBA Expert

GMAT Instructor
Followed by:1268 members
GMAT Score:770

by Brent@GMATPrepNow » Mon Jan 23, 2017 7:02 am
If I were you, I wouldn't make any conclusions about your progress based on the results of your second practice test.

At the moment, you're comparing apples and oranges. At best, you're comparing 2 different kinds of apples. On one hand, you have the official GMAT practice test (GMATPrep), which uses official GMAT questions and the official GMAT scoring algorithm. Also keep in mind that the test-makers (GMAC) collect a lot of data on every question, and every question has been asked in a formal testing environment, so that the well-prepared test-takers are trying their very best to answer every question.