Admission Consult

Launched April 26, 2006
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

Admission Consult

by rkhouri » Mon Sep 26, 2016 1:15 pm
Stacy,

I am looking to apply to MBA programs for next fall. If you could give me some advice on how my application would look and where I could improve that would be great.

My profile:
University of Florida Biomedical Engineering, BS, MS
BS GPA: 3.24
MS GPA: 3.83
24 year old male with 2 years of full time work experience at US Army research lab as Research Engineer. I also worked as an intern part time at a biotech company for 2 years while in school.
I am planning on taking the GMAT in November. I have scored 670 on a practice test but by test time hope to have a 700 or better.

Thanks in advance for your time.

GMAT/MBA Expert

Master | Next Rank: 500 Posts
Followed by:9 members

by MargaretStrother » Sun Oct 23, 2016 7:24 am
What I see here looks great, but to advise you about how to proceed I'd need a bit more information: extracurricular leadership in university and in the community, international exposure, goals... You'll certainly want to get your GMAT above 700 in order to be maximally competitive for top business schools. You will also want to visit each school on your shortlist while classes are in session, in order to really immerse in their community and get a sense of which are the right fit for you.

Goals: because you already have a masters degree, your post-MBA goals become that much more important. Top MBA programs will want to see why you need another masters in order to achieve your specific goals -- company/function, why that role requires an MBA, and your long-term leadership vision.

Good luck!
Margaret Strother
Margaret Strother
Senior Consultant
Stacy Blackman Consulting

Learn more about me

by rkhouri » Sun Oct 23, 2016 7:26 am
Thanks for the feedback and advice Margaret!

by rkhouri » Mon Nov 28, 2016 6:43 am
Hi Margaret,