A tale of 3 GMAT attempts: 650 to 730

Find out how Beat The GMAT members tackled GMAT test prep with positive results. Get tips on GMAT test prep materials, online courses, study tips, and more.
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

A tale of 3 GMAT attempts: 650 to 730

by ridd » Sun Dec 04, 2016 2:40 pm
tl;dr - Practice, Manhattan, Kaplan, and E-gmat got me to 730. Will it be enough?

#My First post ever! Sorry guys for the long post. But well, needed to get a lot of things out of my system.

Background

I am a 24 year old Indian male. I have a non-engineering degree from an engineering college (BITS) :P Don't ask how I got there. But BITS being BITS, got placed on campus and have a relatively chilled out (read boring) Consulting job. (Only good part is there is a lot of international exposure - US and Europe) Have been in the same company for 2+ years. But for the past 6-8 months I have been feeling that I'm just going with the flow, doing the same work again and again. Everyone is happy with my progress it seems except ME. So yeah I decided I needed a change and hence MBA and GMAT. (As someone has rightly said Indians who get bored of their 9 to 5 jobs have only 3 options - MBA, IAS and Startup) And my targets Harvard, Stanford and Wharton! (always dream big!)

1st attempt

While I was still in college in 2013 I took the GMAT my final year. I didn't study much, but I thought hey why not. Well needless to say it was quite humbling. I got a 650 (Q50, V28).

My real journey begins 3 years later in 2016. A journey of 4 months....

2nd attempt

After a lot of dilly dallying around, I started my prep in Aug 2016. I had already booked a slot for Aug end for my GMAT but rescheduled it to Oct 1st 2016. From my previous effort I already knew that Quant would be my strong suit (as it is for all Asians) so my plan was to spend 90% of my time on Verbal.