First attempt: 740 (Q48, V42)

Find out how Beat The GMAT members tackled GMAT test prep with positive results. Get tips on GMAT test prep materials, online courses, study tips, and more.
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

First attempt: 740 (Q48, V42)

by pg19 » Mon Nov 14, 2016 7:33 am
Hi all,

I recently took the GMAT and scored a 740: Q48, V42, IR 6, AWA 5.5. I feel as if it is only fair to share my experience, as I relied on countless debriefs myself during my preparation. I studied for the test over the course of roughly 4 months with sporadic breaks along the way. Fair warning to those looking for Verbal guidance: I did not prep for verbal at all besides reviewing CAT mistakes. My approach was unstructured, and I think trying to convey it in this medium would do more harm than good.

Prep

I began my prep by taking GMAT Prep 1 completely blind, as in, "huh...I don't remember how to do long division," or, "circles have something to do with pi because pies are circular?" blind, and scored 580: Q35/V35. I knew from the outset Quant would give me trouble, and after doing some research I settled on the Manhattan series study guides. I found the content of these study guides very comprehensive. However, very importantly, I found them lacking in terms of test-day strategy.

After finishing the Manhattan Quant guides I took a Manhattan CAT and scored a 690: Q35, V45. While I was excited to score in the 700 area, I was confused by the fact that all of my Quant prep had increased my verbal performance while leaving Quant untouched!?