Improved my GMAT score, but huge verbal drop

This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
Hi,

I took the GMAT twice. The first time I scored a 700 (q47, v40), and the second 710 (q50, v35). Between my first and second takes, I focused 75% of my study effort on improving the quant score as I never scored below a v38 in practice, and I am American-Born, so I was confident not scoring low at verbal. Test day came and I witnessed my lowest verbal score to date! I honestly don't know how I ended up scoring a v35....I understand my score is good, but it has me a bit worried about not getting into the programs I want (I am aiming for top 10 and nothing below). I also am Indian-American, so I'm also worried I'll be stuck in the highly competitive Indian applicant pool despite being born and raised in the US. I graduated from a top 5 undergraduate business program with a 3.6 GPA and have been working in consulting for the past 2.5 years.

I would consider a retake, but I'm really really low on time. I was low on time for my last retake. I suppose I could try to squeeze another take in, but I'm not sure if that's better spent researching programs, making campus visits, and brushing up my extracurricular involvement. I'm applying Round 2.

Advice would be appreciated. Thanks!

GMAT/MBA Expert

GMAT Instructor
Followed by:21 members

by Bara » Fri Sep 09, 2016 4:29 pm
B-school admissions folk don't only look at your score improvement just like they don't just look at your score, however, your application speaks of the 'narrative' of who you are and what your process is. Your quant went up, your verbal went down. If you believe you can keep your quant up AND improve your verbal, I'd recommend you do just that, especially since you have time on your side. Even though you think you don't...