Can't get above a 550, Next Step Tutor?

This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
I have been struggling with this test for over a year and have taken multiple practice tests, but cannot seem to break through to the 600's. After sitting down with Anderson and Kellogg, they expressed that the only missing component in my application is the GMAT score as I have 12 years of work experience, am an entrepreneur, work and am heavily involved in non-profits, and am the first in my family to go to college.

I need to figure out my next steps in this process and the GMAT is the only thing holding me back. Can anyone provide some insight as to when it is a good time to seek out a personal tutor? To prepare I have tried:

* Self study
* Test prep course
* Algebra courses at the local community college
My scores have been:

550 (V37) (Q29)
490 (V28) (Q29)
490 (V33) (Q25)

My actual test is scheduled for October 24th.

GMAT/MBA Expert

GMAT Instructor
Followed by:1268 members
GMAT Score:770

by Brent@GMATPrepNow » Thu Aug 25, 2016 7:35 am
For starters, don't bother taking Algebra courses at the local community college. Those courses will likely cover a lot of non-GMAT-related topics. Also, they won't address GMAT-specific concepts and strategies (e.g.m data sufficiency strategies and solving questions without a calcualor).

Has your prep to date consisted of anything other than taking practice tests?

Cheers,
Brent
Brent Hanneson - Creator of GMATPrepNow.com

Legendary Member
Followed by:140 members
GMAT Score:800

by MartyMurray » Thu Aug 25, 2016 7:49 am
Hi Alex.

With that relatively high, and increasing, verbal score, you have a platform for scoring rather high on the GMAT overall. Also, if you can see what you have to see in order to score that high on verbal, you have the perceptive skills necessary for totally destroying quant.

So ideally you would get your verbal score to 40+, and you would get your quant score to increase significantly.