Scored 540 ..Need help to formulate strategy for retake

This topic has expert replies
Junior | Next Rank: 30 Posts
HI All,
I took Gmat today and score 540 today.My section scores are as follows :-
1.IR - 5
2.Quant -41
3.Verbal - 23

Time was serious issue.I guessed 8-10 questions out of last 12 in quant and i guess last 5 in verbal.I will be sharing ESR report soon
I studied below :-
1.MGMAT Quant Books/GMAT PREPNOW free videos for quant +OG13 All quant Questions
2.MGMAT SC +0G-13 1-50 SC questions
3.POWERSCORE CR Bible + OG-13 ALL CR Questions
4.RC- Nothing

Practice:-
1 mock test :-GMAT PREP (Scored 560 there :- V-27 Quant-40)

I am a non-native speaker .Can the experts please help me in advising how do i approach Gmat now.

I have following questions:-
1.Do i need to follow some extra study materials
2.How much time should i be looking to devote now considering i took almost 3 months to complete above material
3.How do i find time to work on set of last 10-12 questions in both quant and verbal -will practice suffice for that ?Or do i need to visit concepts again

GMAT/MBA Expert

Elite Legendary Member
Followed by:511 members
GMAT Score:800

by [email protected] » Fri Sep 02, 2016 8:59 am
Hi Anantjit,

Given the one practice CAT that you took, your Official GMAT Score makes sense. The pacing issue that you've described does not exist on it's own - it's the result of OTHER issues. To score at a significantly higher level, you're likely going to need to invest in some new practice materials and learn/practice some new Tactics. Before I can offer you the specific advice that you're looking for, it would help if you could provide a bit more information on how you've been studying and your goals:

1) Did you have a typical study routine each week (Did you study on certain days and at certain times? Were you consistent of did your routine change from week to week?)

2) What is your goal score?
3) When are you planning to retake the GMAT?