Bombed the GMAT - 460 (Q 24) (V30) AWA -6.0 - Help Please

Find out how Beat The GMAT members tackled GMAT test prep with positive results. Get tips on GMAT test prep materials, online courses, study tips, and more.
This topic has expert replies
Senior | Next Rank: 100 Posts
I took the GMAT for the first time today and totally bombed it 460 (Q 24) (V30).

Background info - I'm a native English speaker although I've never been too good at grammar. I've also always had trouble with Math. I graduated about 4 years ago with a Business degree (High GPA) and have never done well on standardized tests...

How I prepared: I took the Kaplan Review Course a few years back and did not feel ready for the test then and thus postponed it until now (this was a big mistake).

Within the last few months I've spent some time studying for the GMAT by using the Official Guides (Orange & Green) and doing most problems but without really keeping track of what I was getting wrong and more importantly why.

Kaplan CATs – I took about six of these tests during the Kaplan Course and don't remember exactly what the scores were, but they ranged from 500 to 600.

GMAT Prep 1 - 540
GAMT Prep 2 - 430

I thought that the score of my second GMAT Prep was some kind of fluke and figured that I just needed to take the test once to see where I placed and unfortunately the second GMAT Prep was pretty accurate...

As you can imagine I'm devastated, but I'm D-ETERMINED to not let the GMAT beat me and have devised the following plan and ask that you please help out this poor soul and give me any tips, advice, feedback, comments you may have.

I’ve always dreamed of going to B-School and think that I have all the other pieces to get in and the only thing that really stands in my way is the GMAT…

Timing: I'm giving myself until the end of June to prepare (4.5 months) - My work schedule can be crazy sometimes so I'm hoping that this will provide some cushion when things at work get hectic.