Strategy! 660 Diagnostic (cold) - 44Q/36V - Goal 760

This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
Hello all,

I wrote a completely cold diagnostic and got a 660: 44Q (58th percentile)/36V (81st percentile). This is without having done any math for 4+ years as I am in law. This was a Manhattan CAT which I gather is a bit tougher than the actual GMAC questions.

My goal is to get a 99th percentile on the GMAT. I have all of the Manhattan basic set and the OG books.

Any particular strategies for someone looking to make this improvement? Evidently my Q will have to go way up but I'm confident I can as I was an advanced math student in high school. Also my V will have to go up more.

Which books? Any study process? I want to start mid-August preparing and write it in early/mid January.

Thank you!

GMAT/MBA Expert

Elite Legendary Member
Followed by:511 members
GMAT Score:800

by [email protected] » Mon Aug 01, 2016 9:09 pm
Hi lawstudent400,

A 660 is a really strong initial CAT score (the average Official GMAT score hovers around 540-550 most years), so you're clearly a strong logical thinker. Raising this score to a 750+ will take some serious effort (but you already seem to understand that). Many Test Takers spend 3 months (or more) of consistent study time before they hit their 'peak' scores; with a January Test Date, you've given yourself plenty of time to study, which is good.

Since you already have some study materials, it would make sense for you to start working through them. After 2-3 weeks, you should take a new FULL-LENGTH CAT (with the Essay and IR sections) so that we can track your progress and get a sense of whether your current materials are helping you to improve or not. Once you have that score, you should post back here and we can discuss your study plan going forward.

If you have any additional questions, then you can feel free to contact me directly.

GMAT assassins aren't born, they're made,
Rich
Contact Rich at [email protected]