Profile Evaluation - Chemical Engineer

Free advice from the world's top MBA consultants
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

Profile Evaluation - Chemical Engineer

by lnskoog » Thu May 12, 2016 9:48 am
Hello,
I am looking to apply to a top 10 B-school first round for start date of Fall 2017.

I am currently 28 years old (and will be at the time of application)
White Female
I have nearly 6 years of work experience
3 years for a major consumer products company as a Process Engineer
3 years for a major Chemical company as a process engineer and Engineering Quality manager

BS in Chemical Engineering from Purdue University

GMAT: 760
GPA: 3.58

Leadership positions held:
Secretary of the Toastmasters club for my office (chemical company)
Vice-President of Professional Development for our LBGT Resource group (chemical company) - just started this
Leader of the Volunteer committee for our manufacturing site (Consumer products company)
Historian of Alpha Chi Sigma (professional chemistry fraternity) in college

Volunteering:
Produce Cooperative in Houston - Veggie sorter/Retail (for about 2 years)
Humane Society volunteer - This was short term and three years ago

Certification:
Engineer-in-training
Considering getting my professional engineering license but I don't think it would be relevant with my career goals.

Career highlights
- Steady increase in sizes of projects managed
- Quantifiable cost savings on projects
- Leadership in directing engineering partners on their work and managing their work
- Leadership in current role as Quality manager
- training on new procedures
- managing teams of 2 people (not direct reports but for smaller initiatives)
- Running quality workshops and finding root causes to problems in our projects (basically small scale consulting for projects - how can we do projects better?)

Career goals: