Huge jump in GMAT score in 3 weeks

Find out how Beat The GMAT members tackled GMAT test prep with positive results. Get tips on GMAT test prep materials, online courses, study tips, and more.
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

Huge jump in GMAT score in 3 weeks

by msb1119 » Wed May 11, 2016 9:12 am
I started studying for late April GMAT exam date in mid-March with little to no resources at my disposal. I ordered the official GMAT prep guide books and started doing practice questions in both Quant and Verbal in no specific order. To be honest, I had no idea how to study for this exam and was just hoping that since I am a math major in college, I would have no trouble with the quant portion of the exam and do well enough on verbal to get a 700 level score. I started to do the quant questions in the book and of course a few were quite easy and very doable with no outside studying, however, most were surprisingly hard and included formulas and equations I was unaware of even from college level math classes. It started to hit me that although I could probably get a mid-600 score with no outside studying method, it would be nearly impossible to get in the 700 range, which I desired. Before even hearing about target test prep, I took my first official practice test and scored in the low 600's. I was very upset and not sure how to move forward. My test date was around a month away and I was certain I had a lot of work to do if I was going to improve my score to the 700 range.