Is tutoring the way to go?

This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

Is tutoring the way to go?

by Zain » Mon Apr 18, 2016 9:43 am
Hello,

A little background on me:
I have been studying for the GMAT for 2 months now using Manhattan Prep's online course and Strategy/Foundation books. I have the OG Review and Princeton Review's Crack the GMAT book as well. I just finished the Manhattan Prep syllabus last week. I have taken 3 CATs and I have moved my score 20 points. My test is scheduled for a month from now but I know I'm not close to being ready to take on the GMAT. I plan on applying round 1 this year to begin Fall 2017.

CAT 1 Manhattan Prep (2/14/2016): Score 510 Q29/V31
CAT 2 Manhattan Prep (3/27/2016): Score 530 Q38/V26
CAT 3 Princeton Review (4/18/2016): Score 530 Q34/V29

My target is to score 650+ because without it I don't believe I can get into the schools I'm planning on applying to. Is tutoring the right approach? I have found a tutor who seems to have a personalized approach and will be able to provide a plan catered to improve my weaknesses. Or should I keep going down this path and take the test once next month and then plan on retaking it later in the summer? I have already spent $1100 on the Manhattan Prep and tutoring is pricey but if it can help me attain a higher score I will spend more to achieve the score I need.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you,
Zain

GMAT/MBA Expert

GMAT Instructor
Followed by:247 members

by ceilidh.erickson » Mon Apr 18, 2016 12:19 pm
Tutoring can certainly be pricy, but having an expert work with you is often the best way to identify and fix weaknesses.

Here's what you can do first, though:

- run an Assessment Report on the Mprep tests you've done. Comb through to identify weak spots: https://www.manhattanprep.com/gmat/onli ... eports.cfm