I'm a very weird MBA applicant, should I even apply?

Launched September 22, 2008
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
Ok, so I have a somewhat strange background which I think might either work in my favor or completely against it. I'm an American who grew up in Brazil, but moved to the US back in 2005 for college. I got a degree in International Relations from a school in DC, but did horribly (2.25 GPA) because of depression and alcoholism.

After I graduated, I moved back to Brazil and and worked for an ethanol company where I was an entry level analyst for a year. I moved back to the US and got another undergrad degree in Physics/minor in Math (3.2/3.7 major GPA) at an unranked state school. While in school I got grants from NASA, the DOD, the Air Force, and the NSF to conduct research that resulted in 5 first name papers in math and physics related subjects. Won multiple national competitions and some small/medium sized awards.

I then went to graduate school at an Ivy institution to get a masters in applied math (4.0 GPA), and while I was there I worked full-time as an employee with 2 different National Labs under the DOE in their green energy research.

After that I went on to get another masters from a different Ivy (3.8 GPA) in Environmental Science. While there I worked full-time in the finance department of a much larger private sector energy company, did the whole suit and tie thing. Also was a DOE Fellow (for masters) during this time.

So if that's not weird enough for you, here we go... After graduating I went to conduct solar research in the Antarctic with the NSF for 4 months. While I was there I applied to a fairly prestigious Fellowship at the White House, where I've been for the past few months, doing stuff with "innovation" in green energy and mostly learning to hate politics/bureaucracy.