UCLA FEMBA Rejected Examples

Free advice from the world's top MBA consultants
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

UCLA FEMBA Rejected Examples

by StillTipping » Thu Mar 31, 2016 10:26 am
Greetings,

Would anyone mind sharing some stats of people they know who got rejected from UCLA's FEMBA program? I just started studying for the GMAT and am getting nervous I can't hit the 700 mark. I understand this is self defeated thinking, but I'm a natural worrier and would like to get a clear understanding of the challenges that are ahead in order to mentally prepare myself.

I have a 2.71 GPA from a Top 40 undergrad in Economics, usually pretty average when it comes to standardized exams, but the GMAT proves to be a very different type of animal. 9 years work experience at large investment brokerage firms as a portfolio manager. I think work experience is my only saving grace as these are all Fortune 50-75 companies and my income is 200k+ a year. I can't change what I can't change, but am willing to own up to my past mistakes. I don't mind dedicating 600+ hours to the GMAT if that is what it takes, but I didn't really get my act together until after college and expect to pay the full consequences of my previous mentality.

What GMAT score would you feel that I would need to hit to have a really good opportunity of getting accepted to UCLA's FEMBA program? And even if I put in 600 hours into studying for the GMAT, would I be able to crack 700 if I'm not a naturally intelligent person? I scored 1200's/1600 on my SATs so please keep in mind I'm a very average standardized test taker. Thank you very much for your time!

MBA Admissions Consultant
Followed by:3 members

by Edison@VeritasPrep » Sat Apr 02, 2016 4:08 pm
Thanks for sharing your profile.