Study Plan too long?

This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

Study Plan too long?

by vgg5015 » Sun Mar 20, 2016 6:12 pm
I graduated college in May 2015 and am interested in MBA Programs that have averages of 3 years of work experience, so I want to apply either for 2017 or 2018. I want to pace myself while studying for the GMAT (2-4 hours weekly for now). I just took a practice test and didn't do well on it (510) but because I have so much time I I know I can bring my score up. However, I am worried that starting ~2 years ahead is too long.

Any suggestions/comments?

Thanks!

Master | Next Rank: 500 Posts
Followed by:15 members

by dabral » Sun Mar 20, 2016 11:26 pm
@vgg5015

I wouldn't stretch out the preparation over a 2 year period. The problem with that long a time frame is that most of us would lose interest and feel like we are studying but not really making a progress. It would be better to set a deadline, say four months, and work towards that. This will ensure that you have the pressure to get things done. The other thing is if you stretch out your studying for too long, then you can burn out after some time. You will just be sick of studying for the GMAT.

The best is to get done with the GMAT and move on with life. GMAT scores are valid for 5 years and you can easily use them when you apply in the future.

Cheers,
Dabral
Free Video Explanations: 2021 GMAT OFFICIAL GUIDE.

Legendary Member
Followed by:140 members
GMAT Score:800

by MartyMurray » Mon Mar 21, 2016 5:00 am
Given that you have recently graduated, probably you are still to a degree in study mode and any math that you learned is still relatively fresh in your mind. Also, in some cases people do take over a year to get to their target scores. So starting now is a good idea.