6 Attempts,3 years,710: I had a Last Laugh !!

Find out how Beat The GMAT members tackled GMAT test prep with positive results. Get tips on GMAT test prep materials, online courses, study tips, and more.
This topic has expert replies
Junior | Next Rank: 30 Posts
Finally, the day has come when I am in position to write about my GMAT experience. Having been member of this forum for last 3 years, a silent spectator ( except couple of posts) and being a one who was always inspired by the GMAT success stories of others, it took only 7 attempts for me to get 710.I took my GMAT on 9th Jan. My debrief may not help many but even if it'll inspire one guy to get a 700+, I'll think this post will live its purpose.
7 attempts may sound that I am a below average student but it is not the case. I always believed I was capable of getting 700+ score and it's not that tough but the statistics were not supporting my belief. Just to give a background about me, I am an engineer and in past have got as good as 96 percentile in CAT (One of the toughest competitive exam in India) but didn't get any 'A' grade college and anything less than that was not acceptable to me. Couple of years later, in 2012 I started preparing for GMAT and never thought that this journey is going to last for 3 painful years.