Chances at top programs as a nontraditional applicant?

Free advice from the world's top MBA consultants
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
Hello,

I'm a book editor looking to make a transition to digital media product management / entrepreneurship with the aid of an MBA. I'm under the impression that my nontraditional background isn't necessarily a problem, and that it might even make me a more interesting candidate. But I also worry that my application is uneven, and that I'm too nontraditional for my target schools, especially as far as my quantitative abilities are concerned.

My first choice is Cornell Tech's one-year MBA program. I'd like to stay in or near New York, so I've also been working on applications to NYU and Columbia, and have been considering Yale as well. However, I'm starting to doubt my chances at these last three.

The positives:
Strong total GMAT score of 710
Strong GPA: B.A. 3.6 / 4.0, M.A. 4.0 / 4.0
Work experience at top-tier publishers
Fulbright scholarship
International experience/language skills (lived in Italy for two years and speak Italian)
Participation in accelerator program for startup project
Volunteer work in technology education
Strong recommendations
Plan to take an econ course at NYU or Columbia starting next month
Writing is one of my strengths, so I feel confident about my application essays

The not-so-positives:

B- in Econ 101 my freshman year of college
Virtually no quant courses on my transcript
Big split in my GMAT score: Q40, V48
I have more work experience and am a little older than average
I was briefly in a PhD. program, but I left after receiving my master's

If my chances are really poor at NYU, Columbia, and Yale, I'd certainly rather find that out now than a few months from now. I've known nontraditional candidates at all three, but it's hard to say what separates a strong nontraditional applicant from a mediocre one (though obviously a fantastic quant score would help).