A Beginning

This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

A Beginning

by frigidbar » Wed Jan 20, 2016 8:47 am
Hello!

I am just beginning my GMAT journey and am seeking some advice about where to start. I have booked my test for June 27th and am planning to apply to schools primarily in the Chicago area (Booth wouldn't be my first choice, I think it's a bit out of my range) and Canada for fall 2017.

I know that my math skills are weak. I haven't taken a math course since 2004, my 11th grade in high school. So I am looking for resources to re-teach myself those concepts. I have registered for the Veritas On - Demand course, and have ordered the Kaplan 2016 GMAT complete set along with the OG basic guide, and the MGMAT foundational Math text. I live in Canada's high arctic, and so it will take some time before those resources arrive. I have begun reading some of the Veritas e-books that are available via the online course. I was hoping to take a diagnostic test this weekend to establish a baseline idea of my abilities. But, I must admit, the test seems so daunting! I also work full-time and so I'm trying to psyche myself up for the time I'm going to need to devote to this.

Here are some questions I have:

1. I've read some posts that suggested Khan Academy for some mathematics review. What topics should I focus in on? Are there any specifically valuable lessons?
2. When I take the diagnostic test should I use one of the official GMAT tests that come with registering? Or should I use an alternative that might give more detailed information in the report?
3. Can anyone comment on scheduling / time demands regarding working and studying? Is a couple hours two nights to three nights a week, and some more dedicated time on weekends enough? Should I be aiming for at least an hour every day?
4. I've purchased the basic OG guide, should I also invest in the verbal and quant ones as well?