How to prevent a GMAT breakdown

Post your questions about customer service issues, GMAT exam policies, and GMAT exam structure. Get an official answer from GMAC, the organization behind the GMAT test!
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

How to prevent a GMAT breakdown

by stedusna » Mon Jan 11, 2016 8:09 am
I am stuck. I have been preparing the GMAT for 6 months now. However, the results have not been satisfying. I am here to share my experience and to seek suggestions.
Personal background: 26 years, non-native, management consultant
Objective: 700+
Study sessions:
- I have few or no hours available during the week. However, I have dedicated the majority of the weekends to GMAT preparation (thus we are talking about at least 15 days of study, or 120 hours).
- Moreover, during exam sessions (August and Christmas' holidays) I studied full-time for at least 2 weeks (adding an additional 25-30 days, at least 200 hours)
- Overall, I prepared far more than the average test taker does, however, I know that this way of studying is not ideal since sessions are spread away (also happened that a couple of times I couldn't study even during the week end, so I didn't touch a book for two weeks or more).
- Unfortunately, I won't be able to modify my schedule

Material used:
- Manhattan: went through all the books + question banks
- Kaplan: went through all the series, including for high scorer
- OG: all the 2015 series

Tests:
- August 13, 2015: MGMAT, 640 (Q43, V34). I was quite satisfied since I started preparing 3 weeks before and this was the first test ever, so I thought that I could easily score 700+ with more preparation
- August, 19, 2015: GmatPrep, 690 (Q45, V40). After just 6 days (spent entirely at reviewing the concepts which were at the basis of my mistakes) I improved the score significantly. Good.