Need help with GMAT score improvement!

This topic has expert replies
Junior | Next Rank: 30 Posts

Need help with GMAT score improvement!

by stairclimber » Sun Dec 13, 2015 2:59 pm
Hello,

I have been trying to break the 700 barrier forever now and I am just unable to break it. Any help with my situation will be very much appreciated! I have my GMAT in about 4 weeks.

I took GMAT two times now and both the times I got 660. V29 and Q50, both the times. I like the consistency but not the verbal score. I took once in November 2014 and recently in September 2015. During my recent test, my AWA was 6 and IR was 8. So, I just want to improve my Verbal and I am at a loss as to how I can do that.

During my last exam, I did not have time and I was rushing through the verbal section because I was behind schedule by like 8-10 mins. I remember that I pretty much guessed the answers to one full RC passage and I am not very good at RC. While studying, I took the GMAT Prep's CATs and I got 680 and 710. I never had issues with time although I barely make it in time, most of the times (for verbal). I think that I need online practice where I can monitor my time a lot (instead of paper books). Any suggestions on that front?

What do you think I should do differently this time around?

Thank you very much for your help!

Legendary Member
Followed by:140 members
GMAT Score:800

by MartyMurray » Sun Dec 13, 2015 10:54 pm
Actually, to get better at handling verbal question, you may not be best off concerning yourself with time at this point. You may be better off taking however long it takes to achieve high hits rates when doing verbal questions of all three types.

I mean, do SC, CR, and RC questions, taking as long as it takes to CLEARLY see why all four wrong answers to each are wrong and the right answer is right. You need to get going at noticing key details and seeing the logic of what is going on in questions and answer choices.