480 GMAT.. Chances?

Share tips as you apply, write essays, interview...
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
Followed by:1 members

480 GMAT.. Chances?

by mb8820 » Fri Jan 06, 2012 2:28 pm
Hey guys, I really need some advice. I am a University of Miami graduate with a bachelors degree in Computer Information Systems. I graduated with a 3.75 GPA, top 10% of business school, have excellent recommendations but I can't seem to crack the GMAT. I attempted it two times, first time I studied for about 2 months and I got a 480 (very low math score, good english) and I re-attempted it a couple of days ago and got another dismal 460. I know this seems like such an over-used excuse but standardized tests are not a strong point. I did very well on math related courses in school however.

Anyway, my top choice is University of Miami MBA and second choice is a Masters in MIS at Florida International University. UM's average GMAT is 600 while FIU requires a minimum of 500. Deadlines are approaching and I really want to get into these programs starting in Fall. What do you think I should do? Go ahead with it? I am so upset that I worked hard for 4 years and achieved so well in undergraduate just so my GMAT can block me from furthering my education.

Thanks for your help!

Junior | Next Rank: 30 Posts

by Prateek29 » Thu Mar 22, 2012 1:40 pm