Geometry

This topic has expert replies
Senior | Next Rank: 100 Posts
Followed by:2 members

Geometry

by RiyaR » Sun Oct 05, 2014 3:58 am
A circle with a radius of 4 has an equilateral traingle inscribed in it. What is the perimeter of the inscribed equilateral triangle?

A) 6 root 2
B) 6 root 3
C) 12 root 3
D) 12 root2
E) 24

GMAT Instructor
Followed by:1906 members
GMAT Score:790

by GMATGuruNY » Sun Oct 05, 2014 4:08 am
Check my posts below:

Ballparking method:
https://www.beatthegmat.com/ps-triangle-t98932.html (2 posts)
Alternate method:
https://www.beatthegmat.com/difficult-ge ... 95817.html
Private tutor exclusively for the GMAT and GRE, with over 20 years of experience.
Followed here and elsewhere by over 1900 test-takers.
I have worked with students based in the US, Australia, Taiwan, China, Tajikistan, Kuwait, Saudi Arabia -- a long list of countries.
My students have been admitted to HBS, CBS, Tuck, Yale, Stern, Fuqua -- a long list of top programs.

As a tutor, I don't simply teach you how I would approach problems.
I unlock the best way for YOU to solve problems.

For more information, please email me (Mitch Hunt) at [email protected].
Student Review #1
Student Review #2
Student Review #3

GMAT/MBA Expert

GMAT Instructor
Followed by:1268 members
GMAT Score:770

Geometry

by Brent@GMATPrepNow » Sun Oct 05, 2014 7:39 am
RiyaR wrote:A circle with a radius of 4 has an equilateral triangle inscribed in it. What is the perimeter of the inscribed equilateral triangle?

A) 6√2
B) 6√3
C) 12√3
D) 12√2
E) 24
So, here's what the diagram looks like.

If we draw lines from the center to each vertex, we get the following:

Since the radii have length 4, we can add that here:

Now we'll draw a line from the center that is PERPENDICULAR to one side of the tirangle.
We now have a SPECIAL 30-60-90 right triangle.

Here's the base version of this SPECIAL TRIANGLE