730 - beat the gmat and my target

Find out how Beat The GMAT members tackled GMAT test prep with positive results. Get tips on GMAT test prep materials, online courses, study tips, and more.
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
Followed by:2 members
GMAT Score:730

730 - beat the gmat and my target

by akbariqbal » Mon Nov 30, 2015 10:41 am
Hey guys,

I took the GMAT today and surpassed my own expectations. I'll try not to go into a very lengthy post because I don't think I did anything too far out of the ordinary. I simply relied on consistency, hard work and application (i.e grinding through the material day after day).

The goal was anything 700+ but I'll be honest a 730 seemed a little out of reach (I'll get to that later). I studied for about 4.5 -5 months with a couple of extended breaks in between. I tried my best to study every day and probaby averaged about 10 hours a week until the latter stages. I have a full time job - got quite lucky though as work was surprisingly slow for the last month or two and I could sneak in study sessions at the office.

Here are the 3 resources I used

1. Economis GMAT (this was great for me. I recommend it. They do a great job of keeping the content fresh and drilling home the key concepts. Great for SC).
2. OG extra question pack ( I did this during my last week and a half).
3. OG Extra exam pack.

Here are the key takeaways that really, really helped me:

1. Just keep going and drop the ego.

There will be frustration and there will be days when you feel like you just can't get it or have taken a step back. The truth is you haven't. Keep the faith and keep your target score in mind. Ups and downs are part of the process. Keep going and bit by bit you'll build the confidence you need to face whatever the system throws at you.