What have I done wrong :(

This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

What have I done wrong :(

by zurich » Thu Nov 05, 2015 9:01 am
Hi,

I am at the brink of despair for my GMAT preparation. I have no idea what I have done wrong. I have done all practised questions from manhattan and Kaplan prep as well as the official guide. I studied around 3-4 hours everyday for the past 3 months. I do CAT once a week. My score was always around 600 and only once it was 650. My exam is in 6 weeks. I need to get 700 to even stand a chance getting in the university. I have no idea why my scores have not improved after so many practices. Any tips and help is greatly appreciated. I am currently living in Zurich. If anyone wants to do a study group together, please ring me up! Thanks a lot in advance.

Legendary Member
Followed by:140 members
GMAT Score:800

by MartyMurray » Thu Nov 05, 2015 7:44 pm
Fortunately, via doing all those questions, probably you have become rather familiar with much of what appears on the GMAT. The thing is that somehow that is not translating into the score you want.

One of the first things I am wondering is when you are doing practice questions, do you do them on a timed or untimed basis. Here's why. Often, because they know that when they are taking the GMAT they will have about two minutes per question, people only spend two to three minutes on each practice question, and then guess and move on. The problem with doing that is that it does not really give one the time necessary to develop the skills necessary for getting right answers consistently.

So if you have been practicing on a timed basis, I suggest slowing down and doing practice questions in a different way. That way is to use as much time as you need to achieve a high hit rate, one above 80%, at least. Actually if you want to score above 700, when you are doing questions untimed, you probably need to see a hit rate above 85%.