Retake? Low quant, High verbal.

Find out how Beat The GMAT members tackled GMAT test prep with positive results. Get tips on GMAT test prep materials, online courses, study tips, and more.
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

Retake? Low quant, High verbal.

by BuckyBadge » Mon Nov 02, 2015 5:08 am
I just took the GMAT for the second time (more on that later) and received a 710. This included a 42 Quant and a 44 verbal, though (Also an IR of 8...does this matter at all to programs?). Is it worth retaking in attempt to increase the Quant score considering the below? I'm only really looking at top 10-15 programs, and would not have much time to study/retake (Big 4 hours and admissions deadline constraints). I also understand the very Harvard and Stanford are probably out of reach with this GMAT/quant score.

I have a relatively solid undergrad GPA (3.7) in business, majoring in Accounting. I also have a MAcc degree (Masters of Accountancy). I am a CPA, and have worked in Big 4 accounting for 3 1/2 years (2 of which have been overseas in London). Is this background enough to alleviate the low quant score at top schools?

I took the GMAT once before in 2010, so the score is no longer valid, but I had a 710 back then as well. That score included a slightly lower verbal and higher quant. I believe it was 45 quant and 42 verbal. Is there a way to highlight this (slightly) higher quant score in the app? Or is this test just too old, and the score difference not enough, to matter?

Basically, is this quant score of 42 going to kill me with top programs (particularly Booth and Kellogg)? Would improving it a few points give me any benefit?

Greatly appreciate any advice you can offer!

Legendary Member
Followed by:128 members
GMAT Score:770

by DavidG@VeritasPrep » Mon Nov 02, 2015 7:54 am