Ask Personal MBA Coach

Free advice from the world's top MBA consultants
This topic has expert replies
MBA Admissions Consultant
Followed by:3 members

Ask Personal MBA Coach

by Personal MBA Coach » Mon Jun 01, 2015 9:00 am
A Wharton MBA graduate with a BS from MIT, I have been an MBA admissions consultant for eight years and have helped hundreds of applicants around the world get into top MBA programs. Take advantage of the unique, personal and intimate approach of Personal MBA Coach by asking any questions about the admissions process or your individual situation.

Periodic updates about MBA admissions will be posted as well for your reference. Good luck! I look forward to talking with many of you.

by Personal MBA Coach » Sun Sep 13, 2015 9:26 am
Advice & Tips: Getting recommendations from your current boss when you were not planning on making your MBA plans public

Many people have this decision to make: do you (1) keep your B school goal a secret so it does not affect your job, forcing you to ask people besides your current manager to write a recommendation or (2) tell a couple people at the office because you want them to write your recommendation, and then hope they don't tell others

The right answer to this depends on how long you have been at your current job, how close you truly are to your manager, and who else you could get to write your recommendations. While admissions committees like recommendations from current employers, they are definitely used to people who don't ask their current boss because their boss does not know they are leaving for school. If you are in that situation, you need to have had another full time job post undergraduate where a manager could write about your work experience. You can indicate in the optional essay why you chose not to get a recommendation from your current employer. If your only experience is your current one, that makes getting recommendations tough.